Archive for April 23, 2019

Looking For A Healthy Kosher Dessert Option? Try Paletas!

Written by Ron. Posted in Frozen yogurt aventura, Mexican paletas, Paletas

Frozen treats are a staple, not only in America, but the world over. It seems no one is immune from the creamy lure of ice cream, ice pops, or paletas. However, for those of us who have special dietary requirements, such as eating kosher, understanding what we can and cannot eat is important.

What Is Kosher Dairy?

In order to be considered kosher dairy the following requirements must be met.

  • The dairy product must be taken from a kosher animal. These animals include, cows, goats, sheep, and even deer. Non-kosher animals would be pigs, horses, and rabbits; along with a couple more.
  • All ingredients contained within must not be mixed, or contaminated by meat. Even using the same utensil for dairy and meat is considered non-kosher. This means no gelatin in ice cream, or rennet in cheeses.
  • The entire process, from production, processing, and packaging must follow kosher guidelines and use kosher equipment to ensure the highest quality.